Share Via Facebook, Myspace, Etc.

Church History

The following flow chart or “family tree” is based on historic schisms and/or splits due to theological disagreements, reformation, or geo-political relocation.

There is one major line of demarcation within the Christian church: Either a Christian is Catholic or Protestant and within the Protestant division of Christianity, there are primarily five major divisions or families of Denominations:

• 1. Orthodox - Eastern Byzantine empire - primarily represented by Greek and Russian
        Orthodox churches
• 2. Unity of the Brethren - began by secret small study groups formed by John Hus - Half
        of which left to join the Moravians - both groups are still in existence today.
• 3. Lutheran - started by Martin Luther and although some Lutheran pastors have left to
       join or start other movements, there have been no significant denominations that trace
        their roots to Lutherans. This is to the Lutherans credit.
• 4. Anglican - Most denominations trace their roots to this branch: Baptists, Methodists,
        Pentecostals, etc.
• 5. Reformed - A large number of denominations consider the Reformed church as their
        historical foundation: Presbyterians, Amish, Evangelical Free, and CMandA

On the chart, I have colored each family separately to differentiate the direct and indirect relationships they bear to one another. Upon closer investigation of this chart, you will discover that the greatest contributor to the list of denominations is the Anglican church, followed by the Reformed family of denominations.

The chart is chronological from top down and works much like a family tree with the origin or “roots” of a denomination shown by a vertical line and a similarity or “sibling kinship” to another denomination drawn by a horizontal line. the top or beginning of the tree can be dated 30 A.D. and the bottom or last major denomination formed can be dated 1993 (International Church of Christ, formerly known as the Boston Church of Christ)

Much of this research has been compiled from the books “Church History In Plain Language” by Bruce Shelley, Frank Mead’s “Handbook of Denominations”, and Max Anders’ “30 Days to Understanding Church History” along with the historical information provided by a particular denomination’s official website.

To explore a more in-depth description of the history, reasons for, and origins of schisms and splits of the denominations below, visit our Christian Denominations page.

Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Eastern Orthodox, Russian, Greek Orthodox, Anglican, Church of England, Methodists, Seventh Day Adventists, Presbyterians, Seeker Sensitive, YWAM, Calvary Chapel, Assemblies of God, Reformed Church, Baptists

***It is worth noting that missing are the groups: Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints and the Jehovah’s Witnesses, Oneness Pentecostal, United Pentecostal Church, The Unitarian Church, and a few others. These belief systems veer from the essential, historic Christian belief in the Trinity and are mostly (if not entirely) based on the private interpretations of a charismatic leader or leaders, whereby the gods revealed by these “prophets” and “teachers” are wholly and completely different from the God of Christianity (despite having the same or similar names for their gods). It is for this reason that Christianity on the whole does not consider these groups e.g. LDS church or the Jehovah’s Witnesses to be part of the Biblical and historic orthodoxy of the Christian church.
For more information about the differentiation between a denomination and a cult visit our page:
Denomination or Cult.

To explore a more in-depth historical description of the schisms, splits, and origins seen on the chart above, visit our Christian Denominations page.

Back To Christian Denominations

Back To Home Page

Back To Home Page